Posted April 11, 2016

Airgas reorganizes South distribution region

Airgas announced the reorganization of its South distribution region, effective May 1, into two separate regions.

The company's South Division will include a redefined South Region, headquartered in Tampa, Fla., and a new Southeast Region, headquartered in Kennesaw, Ga.

"We remain committed to cultivating growth in local markets across the U.S. and continue to align our resources to enhance our competitive position," said Michael L. Molinini, Airgas president and chief executive officer. "By reorganizing our South Region, we will be able to capitalize on long-term growth prospects and enhance our ability to win in what is already one of the largest industrial gas markets in the U.S."

"Through both solid organic growth and acquisitions, the South Region has grown tremendously over the past several years, making it one of Airgas' largest regions," said John F. Sheehan, president of Airgas' South Division. "This reorganization reinforces Airgas' commitment to an operating model where decisions are made as close to our customers as possible."

Kevin McBride, who has led the South Region as president since 2014, has been named president of the new Southeast Region, which will cover northern Georgia, northern Alabama, Mississippi, and southern Tennessee. Under McBride's leadership, the legacy South Region has consistently earned recognition as one of Airgas' strongest performing distribution regions.

Edwin Robertson, who has served as an area vice president in the South Region since 2007, has been named president of the new South Region.

Robertson's industry experience includes leadership with Dennis Welding Supply and Robertson Welders and Contractors Supply.

"Edwin brings proven leadership experience and success at Airgas to his new role," said Sheehan. "He understands that speed-to-market, superior customer service, and leveraging the full scope of Airgas' product and service offerings are keys to success. I am confident that he will continue his success as he advances into his new role."

The redefined South Region will cover Florida, southern Georgia, southern Alabama, and southern Mississippi.